Blizzard teases new World of Warcraft expansion reveal on August 6

first_imgWorld of Warcraft continues to chug along with subscriber numbers every other MMO on the market is jealous of. Those numbers are slowly falling, but they get bumped up every time new content is announced. So it should come as no surprise to hear that Blizzard wants to talk about the next expansion a week from now.The reveal is set to happen at Gamescom 2015, which runs between August 5-9. Blizzard has given us an exact date and time of August 6 at 9am PDT (noon EST). It forms part of a World of Warcraft special event that is being streamed live from the show in Germany. After that, a World of Warcraft developer chat is set to happen on August 9 at 8am PDT (11am EST) where there will be further discussion about the new expansion.Blizzard has already made several changes/updates to the its MMO this year. The online game now has a selfie camera, has basically become free-to-play, and introduced WoW Tokens that can be used for gold and game time. Even so, it has been losing around a million subscribers a month.An expansion will certainly reverse that trend, but for how long depends entirely on what exactly it contains. New content, a new playable race, and a new level cap will give it a bump for a few months (if that’s what this expansion contains), but Blizzard really needs something novel to keep new and old players alike subscribing for years to come. However, even if it doesn’t, there’s still millions of gamers enjoying playing every month and for the foreseeable future.last_img read more

Read More »